New MGTF owner need some advise on my faults - XPowerForums - For MG, XPower & Motorsport Enthusiasts
Logo

Go Back   XPowerForums - For MG, XPower & Motorsport Enthusiasts > MG Model Specific > MGTF / MGF

Old 09-02-2010, 15:44   #1
JimmyCoupe

JimmyCoupe has a spectacular aura aboutJimmyCoupe has a spectacular aura aboutJimmyCoupe has a spectacular aura about
MG New MGTF owner need some advise on my faults

Hi Everyone

I'm new to MG TF's but not new to MG rovers, I currently have a MG ZS 180 and have been a member on here for a while now but my other half has just recently become a very proud owner of a lovely MG TF 135 03 in bright red. It is a beautiful low mileage example but we did get it at a nice price due to a couple of very minor faults that I am having trouble finding the cause. If anyone can advise on any of the cars faults we would be very grateful.

1) Boot light is always on saying that the boot is open
2) Should the spare wheel in the front have a standard spacer like my MG ZS to fix it to the car or does it have a MG TF special spacer?
3) Very rare but sometimes the key won't turn in the ignition like the steering lock is still on even though the steer wheel can be turned, odd (found this fault after buying it)
4) What are the main faults to look for/ look out for with a MG TF 135?
5) When is the cambelt due, normally 60,000 on a rover a part from the V6 but the car is now 6-7 years old and has done 29,000 miles.
6) Condensation on the front head lights, is this normal? if not how can I stop it?

Many thanks and lots of happy sunny MG TF days :-).
JimmyCoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-02-2010, 16:55   #2
Steve White

Breakout Champion!
Steve White will become famous soon enough
Default Re: New MGTF owner need some advise on my faults